Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law - Murad Law

Personal Injury Attorneys - Car Accidents, Medical Malpractice, Divorce, DUI

New Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law to Go In Effect April 7th

1

New Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law

Come tomorrow, a new Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law goes into effect that will require motorists to turn on both their headlights and taillights whenever their car’s windshield wipers are in effect.

According to Massachusetts General Laws in Section 15, Chapter 85:

A vehicle, whether stationary or in motion, on a public way, shall have attached to it headlights and taillights which shall be turned on by the vehicle operator and so displayed as to be visible from the front and rear during the period of 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise; provided, however, that such headlights and taillights shall be turned on by the vehicle operator at all other times when, due to insufficient light or unfavorable atmospheric conditions, visibility is reduced such that persons or vehicles on the roadway are not clearly discernible at a distance of 500 feet or when the vehicle’s windshield wipers are needed; provided further, that this section shall not apply to a vehicle which is designed to be propelled by hand; and provided further, that a vehicle carrying hay or straw for the purpose of transporting persons on a hayride shall display only electrically operated lights which shall be 2 flashing amber lights to the front and 2 flashing red lights to the rear, each of which shall be at least 6 inches in diameter and mounted 6 feet from the ground.

This new Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law taking effect April 7th also states that headlights and taillights should be turned on a half-hour before sunrise, a half-hour after sunset and when visibility is under 500 feet. The fine for not following the new headlight laws will result in a $5 fine and the risk of facing increased vehicle insurance premiums. Though it’s still unknown how much the insurance surcharge can amount to, it will depends on the insurance premium and whether or not you have already accumulated any points, among other things.

The new Massachusetts headlight law was passed in January with hopes of improving driver safety and lessen accidents.

The Massachusetts Car Accident Lawyers at Murad Law are prepared for this new Massachusetts Windshield Wiper Law and ready to defend you if you by chance find yourself negatively affected by it. Call 617-227-4648 for a FREE consultation.

1 Comment:

  • Roberta Russo
    April 11, 2015

    What if your vehicle as multiple speeds on your wipers? if your wipers are on low or medium speed and your lights are on can you be charged $5.00? What happens if you use your windshield fluid and your wiper automatically go on, do you need to put your lights on? Money for the insurance companies.

Post a Reply